Wage & Hour Lawyer in Charleston
Ensuring Appropriate Compensation for Our Clients
The Federal Labor Standards Act outlines the requirements that employers must meet regarding wages and hours. In addition, states have passed their own labor laws, such as the West Virginia Wage Payment and Collection Act, which protects the rights and benefits due to hardworking West Virginians.
Everyone deserves to be treated appropriately at work, just as everyone deserves the compensation they have earned. If you are involved in a dispute regarding wages or work hours with your employer, the Charleston wage & hour law attorney at Hoosier Law Firm, PLLC can assist you. We work tirelessly to ensure that your rights are protected.
Understanding Wage & Hour Laws in West Virginia
In West Virginia, employers must pay workers at least the current minimum wage of $8.75 per hour and time and a half overtime pay when employees work more than 40 hours per week. Tipped employees must be paid a minimum of $2.62 per hour. Employers may pay workers who are under 20 years of age a “training wage” of $5.15 per hour. However, this may only last for 90 days. They may also deduct meal costs and costs for mandatory living arrangements, but may not deduct pay for uniforms or laundry.
Labor laws are nuanced and can be extremely confusing. If you are unsure whether your employer is complying with state or federal labor laws, it can be helpful to consult with an attorney. At Hoosier Law Firm, PLLC, we can assess your situation and determine whether your rights are being violated.
Meal Break Laws
While your employer can legally allow you only one 20-minute meal break to be taken at any point in your workday, there’s enough room for them to unlawfully take advantage of you. At Hoosier Law Firm, PLLC, we can help you hold an employer acting illegally accountable for your mistreatment.
Our attorney is experienced at handled a variety of employment law complaints, and we can help you seek justice through fair and just compensation for your losses. If your employer has violated your state or federal rights, reach out to Hoosier Law Firm, PLLC for help.
Your Right to Time Off
Often, employers choose to offer employees some form of paid time off, such as vacation days, holiday pay, or sick leave. There is no state or federal law requiring employers to provide paid leave to their employees. However, there are requirements for employers to allow unpaid leave for specific reasons. These laws generally apply to employers with a specific number of employees.
Employers are required to allow unpaid leave for:
- Leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- Military leave and military family leave
- Employees called for jury service
Call a Charleston Wage & Hour Lawyer at (800) 455-8721
Our Charleston wage and hour lawyer has extensive knowledge of both federal and state laws. We can evaluate your situation and explain how the law applies to you. If your employer has violated state or federal wage and hour laws, we can fight for your rights and the compensation you deserve for your hard work.
Get in touch with a wage and hour law attorney in Charleston, WV at
Learn more about your legal options.
Builds Trust and Lifelong Relationships with Clients
Understands How Injury & Job Loss Can Affect You
Highly Experienced Litigator
Also Available After Hours & Weekends
Representing Only Employees
Free Initial Consultations